Sidewalk Skateboarding UK Mini Ramp Champs - Sidewalk Skateboarding

UK Mini Ramp Champs

The UK Mini Ramp Champs take place each year, usually in November. Since 2008, when the event was won by Vans skater Aaron Sweeney, the Mini Ramp Champs have taken place at the X-site Skatepark in Skegness on what is universally regarded as one of the best mini ramps in the country.

In early 2012, the ramp’s original birch surface, which had survived for six years, was replaced by a layer of Russian ‘chudo’ birch, diagonally applied to minimise the effect of sheet joins and be more pleasing to the eye. A new extension was also installed in place of the original jersey barrier and a kicker was added in place of the old tranny gap.

Despite many of the regular faces not appearing later that year because of injury, the competition was possibly the best yet, with heads from all over the British Isles battling it out for a share of the £1,000 prize purse. Ryan Hurt eventually emerged in first place, with Andy Scott coming a close second and Denis Lynn finishing third. Sidewalk put together a great edit of the competition, also featuring skaters such as Jak Tonge, Jed Cullen, Sox, Benson and Lois Pendlebury.

The competition returned to sunny Skegness in November 2013 for two more days of traditional transition-based carnage. Following the girls’ jam and under 16s comp on the Saturday, pros and sponsored types from around the UK took to the ramp on the Sunday with Ged Cullen emerging victorious from Greg Nowik and Sam Pulley. Lois Pendlebury won the girls’ competition.



Newsletter Terms & Conditions

Please enter your email so we can keep you updated with news, features and the latest offers. If you are not interested you can unsubscribe at any time. We will never sell your data and you'll only get messages from us and our partners whose products and services we think you'll enjoy.

Read our full Privacy Policy as well as Terms & Conditions.